Generic

Rise to the Challenge winner Kenzie Edwards of Deloraine pictured with her prize package.December 23, 2019

For Immediate Release

Brandon, Manitoba – Sunrise Credit Union has put a holiday smile on the face of Kenzie Edwards.

The Deloraine student is the winner of Sunrise's Rise to the Challenge prize package worth more than $14,000.

Edwards, a first-year student at Brandon University, entered the contest at the Deloraine branch of Sunrise Credit Union after she performed three acts of kindness earlier this month. Edwards shoveled a family members' driveway while they were away, visited residents at the Bren-Del-Win Lodge in Deloraine and held a door open for an older adult.

"The promotion was an opportunity to encourage people in our communities to 'pay it forward' this holiday season," says Tayona Johnas, VP Wealth and Marketing, "We thank everyone that participated in our contest, and hope the value of spreading acts of kindness continues into 2020 and beyond."

More than 100 small businesses in southwestern Manitoba contributed to the package, which included a wide variety of prizes. Among them were ten yards of gravel, legal services, suitcases, a massage and more than $5,000 in gift cards and cash.


Special thanks to our participating business partners in the Rise to the Challenge Campaign...

Business Item Facebook Instagram Twitter
Merle Gie from Treble Law $250 toward Legal Services treblelaw    
Baldur Pharmancy $100 Gift Card PharmaChoiceWest    
Goodheart Rentals Tent Rental Goodheart Rentals goodheartrentals goodheartrental
Hannah Blockx Massage Therapy One hour massage
Countryland Realty $250 Gift Certificate      
Steads Farm Supply $25 Gift Certificate steadsfarmsupply steadsfarmsupply  
International Peace Garden Hat, Travel Mug, T-Shirt & Gift Certificate InternationalPeaceGarden InternationalPeaceGarden  
Choy's Restaurant $25 Gift Certificate Choy's    
Susie's Shears Hair Salon Gift Package      
Hotlocks Hair Designs $50 Gift Certificate      
Turtle Mountain Nordic Ski Club Two Weekend Ski Rentals turtlemountainnordicskiclub turtlemountainnordic  
Goodon Industries Ltd. Clothing goodonmanitoba goodonindustriesltd goodonind
Sawmill Tea & Coffee Co. Gift Package Prairie Partners Inc. & Sawmill Tea & Coffee CO. thesawmillcafe  
R.F. Wilkinson Trucking Ltd. $200 Gift Certificate      
Canadian Wilderness Inn Two night stay at any location  Canadian Wilderness Inn    
BDO Canada LLP - Boissevain Gift Package      
Subway - Boissevain Gift Certificates      
Turtle Mountain Appliances & Furniture Gift Package Turtle Mountain Appliances    
Pringles' Sports Excellence $100 Gift Certificate pringlesports pringles_sports  
QDOBA Mexican Eats - Brandon $100 Gift Card qdobabrandon   Qdoba_Brandon
Hedley’s Health Hut - Brandon $100 Gift Card hedleyshealthhut hedleyshealthhut  
M&M Food Market - Brandon $100 Gift Card      
Cultured Herb Eatery & Market $50 Gift Certificate Cultured Herb #culturedherb  
Broadway Boutique Gift Basket Broadway Boutique #broadwayboutique114  
Ray's Family Foods and Pittet's Hardware $50.00 Gift Certificate Ray's Family Foods and Pittet's Hardware    
Keywest Photo Image by Design Family portrait Package keywestphoto keywestphotoibd  
CAA Manitoba Suitcases caamanitoba caamanitoba caamanitoba
Daydreams Esthetics Spa Gift Package Daydreams Esthetics Spa daydreams_esthetics_spa  
Bell Media Winnipeg Jets' Tickets  purecountry101 961bobfmbrandon purecountry101  961BOB BOBFM961  purecountry101
Leech Printing Gaming Chair leechprinting leechprint leechprint
Murray Chevrolet Cadillac Buick GMC Murray Gift Card murraygmbrandon murray_chev_brandon murraygmbrandon
Vector Promotions Carry on Luggage vectorpromotions vector_promotions vectorpromos
Westman Communications Group Gift package incl. $50 gift card and neck pillow westmancom westmancom westmancom
Victoria Inn Two night stay vicinnbrandon vicinnbrandon vicinnbrandon
Mazergroup Gift package incl. four Wheat Kings' Suite Tickets mazergroup mazergroup mazergroup
Grey Ridge Coffee Two Bags Freshly Roasted Coffee greyridgecoffee greyridgecoffee greyridgecoffee
Brandon University Bobcats Gift Package bubobcats bubobcats BUBobcats
The Brandon Sun Six-month subscription thebrandonsun thebrandonsun brandonsunnews
The Dock on Princess $50 Gift Card thedockonprincess thedockonprincess   
Landmark Cinema Four general passes and Two popcorn vouchers  LandmarkCinemasBrandon    
Shippam & Associates Inc. Men's Watch  Shippam & Associates Inc. Shippam_promo  
Brandon Boarding Kennels Five night stay at the Kennel & Pet Food
Woodworth Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ltd. Gift Package incl. Oil Change and Complete Detailing woodworthdodge woodworthdodge woodworthdodge
Rae's Funeral Service Wooden Chest      
Sims & Company Law Office Ceramic Heater & CD Boom Box      
Strathclair Hotel Cash Donation strathclairhotel    
RTM Transport Gift Package incl. Shirt and Dynamic Headphones      
Country Oasis Spa & Florals Gift Basket countryoasisspaflorals spafloral  
Reischek Pharmacy/Unforgettable Gifts Gift Certificate and Gift Prize unforgettablegifts204 unforgettable_gifts unforgettableg5
L & H Feedlot Cleaning Canadian Tire Gift Card      
Parkland Septic Service Cash Donation parklandsepticservice    
Molgat Shopping Centre $200 vGift Card      
Five & Fifty Sales & Service $200 Gift Card      
Trickle Creek General Store $20 Gift Card      
Dave's Septic Service Cash Donation      
Parkland Seed Cleaners Cash Donation      
Butterfield Welding Cash Donation      
Riverside Automotive $50 in Shop Dollars laurier.ca    
Chicken Chef - Virden $200 Gift Certificate chickenchefvirden    
Renards Meat Services $200 Gift Certificate      
C.D. Oil Well Servicing Ltd. Drink Mixer      
Comfort Inn - Virden $200 Gift Certificate      
Virden Recreation and Watersports $200 Gift Certificate virdenrecreation virdenrec virdenrec
Prairie Life Dental  Custom Take Home Bleaching Kit prairielifedental   pl_dental
Integra Tire & Auto Centre - Virden $50 Gift Certificate integratireautocentrethegaragebrandon    
Trans Canada Bearing & Machine Ltd. Cash Donation      
W & L Chinese Restaurant Dinner for Two      
Luc's Style: Hair and Glass Studio Stained Glass      
Marshall Chiropratic Office Pillow      
Virden Hi-Way Grocery $50 Gift Certificate Virdenhiwaygrocery    
Wolverine Supplies Hoodie & Gift Certificate wolverinesupplies wolv_supplies wolv_supplies
Integral Hockey Stick Repair Yellowhead Two Refurbished Hockey Sticks cwendell79 integral_yellowhead  
Pitter Patter $20 Gift Certificate pitterpattervirden    
Home Hardware - Virden $200 Gift Card virdenhomehardware virdenhomehardware  
Boundary Co-op - Deloraine Makita Cordless Drill boundaryco-op boundarycoop  
Meighen Haddad LLP Co-op Gift Cards      
Turtle Mountain Conservation District Gift package incl. golf shirt and rain guage turtlemtncd   TurtleMtnCD
Deloraine Times and Star One-year digital or print subscription Deloraine Times & Star    
D & L Janitorial Services Cash Donation      
Municipality of Deloraine-Winchester Gift package incl. Duffle bag and blanket. delowinrecotourism    
Hasselfield Drugs Gift Package Hasselfielddrugs hasselfielddrugs  
Simplicity Clothing & Accessories Plaid scarf Simplicity Clothing Accessories    
Morrison Agencies Ltd. Jacket      
Coral Millar - Independent PartyLite Consultant Sunset Jar Candle Holder, candle, tea lights      
Beauty by Sierra Henderson $170 Gift Certificate Beauty by Sierra Henderson beautybysierrah  
Park Road Florals $200 Gift Certificate Parkroadflorals    
Melissa Falconer - Epicure Consultant Epicure Turkey Dinner Kit and Farm Fresh Turkey      
Hartney Machine and Motors Ltd. $30 Gas Voucher and Roadside Kit      
Judd's Cutting Edge Services Ten yards of A-Base Gravel Judd's Cutting Edge Services judder4  
Southwest Strength Personal training sessions and remote coaching Southwest Strength southwest_strength  
Chicken Chef - Meilta Gift package incl. $25 Gift Certificate Chicken Chef Melita chickenchefmelita  
Cameron Agencies Gift package incl. sunglasses and window scraper Cameron Agencies    
Bloosom Boutique LED Light up Christmas Tree Skirt Blossom Boutique 2007 blossomboutique07  
Melita Bakery 6 x $10 Gift Certificates Melita Bakery (1996    
Susan's Hair Boutique Cash Donation Susan's Hair Boutique    
Municipality of Pipestone 8 - $25 Gift Certificates RMofPipestone    
Mar-Dee Enterprises Case of 5W-20 Oil      
Savory Sensations Cash Donation savory sensations savory.sensations  
Spence Construction & Transport Cash Donation      
Meadow Lane Impression Tree ornaments meadow lane impressions  meadow.lane.impressions  
Jolly Construction Cash Donation      
Waskada Community Foods Gift Basket waskada community foods    
Cowlicks Hair Salon Gift Package of Hair Products      
Norwex Enviro Products - Donna Stewart  Gift package incl. window cloth and enviro cloth       
Southwest Trading Company Cash Donation The Southwest Trading Co.    
Janet McBurney - Mary Kay Independent Beauty Consultan Mary Kay Products      
 

Secure login

Not a member yet? Join Us

Transfer & Save for the Holidays