January 5, 2021

Brandon, Manitoba – Sunrise Credit Union is pleased to announce the four nominees from District One have been acclaimed and will begin three-year terms on our Board of Directors this spring.

Agnes Kokke, Doug Van Damme and Scott Thompson are returning to the Board while Robert Sopuck will be a Director for the first time.

Kokke currently serves as vice-chair of the Board, becoming a Director following Sunrise’s amalgamation with Strathclair Credit Union on January 1, 2019. She had previously served as a director with Strathclair Credit Union for 15 years.

Van Damme became a Director in 2019, residing in the community of Laurier. He had a long career as an educator and school administrator before his retirement in 2016.

Thompson joined the Board in 2020 following the amalgamation with Minnedosa Credit Union. He had served on the MCU board for six years and was the vice-chair in the final year before the merger with Sunrise.

Sopuck is a member of Sandy Lake Credit Union and now Sunrise Credit Union for many years. He most recently served as MP of the riding of Dauphin-Swan River-Marquette from 2010 to 2015 and the riding of Dauphin-Swan River-Neepawa from 2015 to 2019.

The terms for Kokke, Van Damme, Thompson and Sopuck, will be ratified by members at Sunrise Credit Union Annual General Meeting, tentatively scheduled for April 20, 2021.

Longtime Board member Roger Palmer will retire from the Board of Directors following the 2021 Annual General Meeting. Roger had served as a Director since Sunrise Credit Union’s amalgamation with Grandview Credit Union in 2017 and spent nine years serving on the Grandview and Sunrise boards.

Bjarni Walterson’s term on the Board of Directors has also expired. Walterson joined with the amalgamation with Minnedosa Credit Union in 2020 and spent seven years serving on the Minnedosa and Sunrise boards.

About Sunrise Credit Union
Sunrise Credit Union formed in 2008 and now offers personalized service from 20 branches located in Baldur, Boissevain, Brandon, Cypress River, Deloraine, Grandview, Hartney, Holland, Laurier, Melita, Minnedosa, Oakburn, Reston, Sandy Lake, Shoal Lake, Ste. Rose du lac, Strathclair, Treherne, Virden, and Waskada. Sunrise Credit Union has approximately 34,000 members and about 240 employees.